Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Pethtel Honored In Charleston

November 22, 2017
Wetzel Chronicle

United States Senator Joe Manchin III joined with Democratic leaders from throughout West Virginia in honoring Dave Pethtel as one of West Virginia's Outstanding Democrats of the Year. This Outstanding Democrat was selected by local county leaders for hard work and dedication to the Democratic Party in Wetzel County. Pethtel received tribute from Democrats assembled at the recent Roosevelt-Kennedy Dinner Celebration in Charleston on Friday, November 3, 2017. This year's special Keynote Speaker was The Honorable Chuck Schumer, Minority Leader United States Senate.

Karen Coria, a Putnam County Democratic leader and coordinator of the 32nd Annual Awards Ceremony, indicated that the award was established to recognize local party officials and volunteers whom Democratic leaders feel have contributed most to the party's efforts.

"Our goal is to recognize these special people who have distinguished themselves by contributing to our society, by working within the framework of our democracy and political party system," Coria said.

Article Photos

Photo Provided
Wetzel County Democrats gather at the Roosevelt Kennedy Dinner Celebration, held in Charleston on Nov. 3.

Joining United States Senator Joe Manchin III and Coria in acknowledging the accomplishments of the honoree were State Treasurer John Perdue, State Executive Committee Chair Belinda Biafore and Vice Chair Bill Laird. The honoree was honored with special recognition and presentations by party officials.

"The efforts of the honoree demonstrates the importance of the work of every individual in affecting the outcome of local, state and national races. These people are the truly effective party workers." Coria added.

Wetzel County Democrats had a very good showing at the dinner. Approximately 12 to 15 Wetzel Countians were in attendance. Besides Pethtel being recognized on stage for being selected as Wetzel County's Democrat of the Year, Wetzel County's Democratic Chair, Denny Longwell, received the Chairwoman's Award. State Chair, Belinda Biafore, said she recognized Longwell for his leadership and his innovative ideas. Longwell has been the Chair of Wetzel County since April of this year.

Wetzel County Democratic Executive Committee is comprised of: Sherry Hayes, Hundred; Mike Melott, Reader; Barbara King, Pine Grove; Ralph Phillips, New Martinsville; Greg Morris, Paden City; Edna Travis, Paden City; Kimberly Frum, Paden City; Lori McCoy, New Martinsville; Deanna McConaughey, New Martinsville; Ron McCoy, New Martinsville and Longwell, New Martinsville.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web